Self-cook chicken, with asparagus and roasted tomatoes

14 Jun

I love asparagus, and while it’s in season, I add some to my basket every time I shop. My asparagus surplus led to an ‘open door at fridge’ moment on Saturday morning, as I was gazing at my stockpile wondering what to do next..

We are mid-way through packing for a house move, so for the next few weeks, more than ever, speed of preparation is the over-riding priority of my cooking decisions. This is closely followed by my desire make the food as healthy as possible. I have a wedding to attend in 2 weeks time, and no funds to buy a new dress, so I need to pay my penance for the last few weeks of gluttony, and to exert just a modicum of self-control when it comes to meal time. To that end, the cake tin lies empty and abandoned at the rear of a dusty cupboard, and I seem to be eating my weight in fruit and vegetables on a daily basis (chocolate counts as a one of your five a day, doesn’t it?).

Back to the asparagus stockpile. If I had more time to spare I would have considered a risotto, but with a full schedule I had only 5 minutes to spare for the preparation. Luckily, the additional ingredients for this dish were all languishing in the fridge, teetering on the edge of their use by date, calling for a (fridge) search and rescue operation. I am pleased to report, that they were not only found and rescued, but revived with a little TLC and a 30 minute sauna in the oven!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 2 bunches of asparagus (1 would suffice)
  • 1/2 punnet cherry plum tomatoes
  • a few grinds of sea salt and pepper
  • a dessert spoon of shallots from the freezer
  • a dash of olive oil
  • a splash (maybe a glass) of white wine (or stock if you don’t have wine)
  • fresh rosemary (I am lucky to have some in the garden)

    Step 1 The Asparagus

To prepare the asparagus, bend the bottom half of the spear until it snaps. Discard the end, and keep the remainder. Chop the head off on the diagonal, then continue chopping the remaining spear on the diagonal. Lay the asparagus in the bottom of an oven proof dish.

Chop the tomatoes in half, lay them on top then sprinkle on the shallots. Season with salt and pepper and a few small drops of extra virgin olive oil if you have it.

Step 2. Add tomatoes, shallots and seasoning

Lay a couple of sprigs on top of the mixture. Add the wine. My top tip, whenever I have white wine left over (not that often!) I freeze it, to save opening a full bottle when just a little will do for a recipe.

Add the (frozen!!) wine

Place the chicken breasts on top and cover with tin foil.

Step 4. Adorn with the chicken breasts

Cook for approx 30 mins in a pre-heated oven at 200 degrees.

Check that the chicken is cooked and the juices run clear. Then leave it to rest on the side for 5 minutes. Slice on the diagonal. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper, or as I did, with pesto on the chicken breast.

Serves 2 adults (and a couple of toddlers)

'Resting'. Almost ready!

Although I havent tried it, I suspect this would work even better with skin on chicken, and without the foil, which would allow the chicken and the asparagus to crisp up in the oven. One for another day perhaps?

Served with a drizzle of Pesto

5 Responses to “Self-cook chicken, with asparagus and roasted tomatoes”

  1. Jenny paulin @ mummy mishaps June 15, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Mmm yet another tasty dish! Might try this as I also enjoy collecting asparragas and tomatoes in my fridge!

  2. DeliciousNess June 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    This looks amazing! Loving your blog.

  3. Baby Dines Out June 17, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Love this recipe – am definitely going to try this (then I can indulge in your chocolate cake recipe too!). xx

  4. mummychat June 21, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    This looks lovely! Will defintely be trying this one, we are on a new healthy eating kick and this would be perfect, love the pics too!

    • mummyinahurry June 21, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by. Its always great to get feedback. We are trying (in between lapses) to eat a bit more healthily too. More waist friendly recipes coming soon!

Leave a Reply

