Bananas about Bananas

2 Jun

The Best Banana Muffin Ever?

 

There are very few people I have come across in life, that don’t like bananas. I love them. They are amazing. The ultimate fast food that come in their own biodegradable packaging.  

Even the peel is useful. Did you know the peel makes a great fertilizer for plants? Apparently its very good for rose bushes. Next time you are planting or pruning your rose bushes, dig a hole next to the bush and bury the banana peel. Then cover the whole back up. Not a tip I have tried as I am more of a ‘swingseat’ gardener than a get your hands dirty type, but maybe worth a try?  

There is no good reason why you should ever throw away a banana ever again. Ever been faced with a half-eaten/blackened banana and thought there was nothing else for it than the bin? Well stop right there. I say this with someone who is used to having half-eaten bananas discarded by my 2 year old at will.  

Did you know they freeze well? So you can freeze them with or without skin, for use at a later date in a smoothie, as ‘faux’ ice cream, or to put in banana bread.  

Put them in the bin? No chance!

 

Today I was faced with a glut of ‘decaying’ bananas, that were transformed, in under 10 minutes, into a muffin mixture awaiting a breath of life from my *blush* not too clean and slightly temperamental oven. 25 minutes later, and they were resplendent on the cake rack, awaiting almost certain instant demolition from my two little treasures.  

INGREDIENTS LIST  

  • 4.5 medium bananas, mashed
  • 1 lightly beaten egg
  • 75g unsalted butter, melted
  • 175 g plain  flour
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Almost good as new

 

So heres what we did. Whilst still in our pyjamas, the kids washed hands, jumped on their stools and got ready for some ‘we can cook’ time with Mummy.  The banana pile, it has to be said, would not be one to get your heart racing. In fact, I am sure in most houses this would have ended up on the composting pile. However, fearless thrift warrior* that I am, we used the bananas, after checking they were just black from being bruised and not mouldy. Skin off and inside they were almost good as new.  

So we mashed bananas, melted butter and just mixed all the ingredients together in a very haphazard way. The trick with muffins is that you don’t overmix. I seem to have been drawn to a few streusel recipes of late.  That inspired me to sprinkle some crumble mixture that I found in the freezer, on top of the muffins. I then finished them off with a tiny sprinkle of caster sugar and cinnamon. but you could leave them plain. They still work!  

Then into the oven on 180 degrees for 25 minutes. And result, the perfect portable treat for our day trip to the farm.     

Keep your hands off!

 

Now don’t get me started on banana bread which I love. I make it in big batches then slice it and freeze it, ready for breakfast on the run, and packed lunches. Recipe to follow.  

If you too are bananas for bananas, then I would love to hear your tips and recipes. If you fancy something a little more decadent, maybe involving frosting, then try the Banana and Carrot cake by Mummy Mishaps 

Too good not to eat

 

*When I say thrift I have no intention of implying hardship. Its not a matter of being cheap. More, making sure every penny counts, so there is room left for a few of lifes essential pleasures. Like lipgloss, and champagne.  

 

5 Responses to “Bananas about Bananas”

  1. Pumpkin and Piglet June 3, 2010 at 7:30 am #

    They look great, I’m still drooling from your pic on Twitter! I love banana’s but won’t eat them as they are when they go black, so banana bread bread is a regular in our house. I didn’t know you can freeze banana’s! I’ll have to remember, that could come in handy.

  2. Denise LeCroy June 5, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    I used to put miniature chocolate chips in my banana muffins when my children were little. Yum!

    Using the miniature chips, I think, is key.

    I look forward to reading through your blog which I found via Smitten By Britain. I am American, married to a Brit. We’re moving back to the UK (London area) before end of summer. BTW, I am a Legal Secretary. 🙂

    • mummyinahurry June 5, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

      Hi Denise. Thanks for dropping by. Mmm chocolate chips in the muffins. A great tip! So, you are moving back to the big smoke? Are you going to be working aswell?A challenging role. (most) lawyers are awful to work for. I am still good friends with both my former secretaries, and I have to say I really miss them organising my life for me!! Good luck with your move.

  3. mummychat June 21, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    These look yummy too! I think they would be great for baby led weaning, I’ll just drop the sugar see how they work out. Once again brilliant pics and great blog.

    • mummyinahurry June 21, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

      Let us know how it works with less sugar. I think I have a recipe somewhere that uses honey instead, which I will look for. I know its still sugar, but a with a label that makes you feel a bit better about it!

Leave a Reply

