Worlds Best Chocolate Cake?

28 May

fabnestfriday



Worlds Best Chocolate Cake?

Donna Hay

Is

A

Temptress.

And very good she is at it too. As soon as I saw the picture of this cake (less than a week ago) I knew I had to make it. As we are about to enter June (which is birthday season in this house), I felt compelled to conduct a product test, just to see if this one was up to the job.

It soooo is.

Clearly, modesty is not one of Donna’s strong points, as the title above is her own (bar the question mark), but having tasted the cake, I think I can overlook the trumpet blowing on this occasion.

I made this with my friend Hadia, her daughter, and my 2 little munchkins.  The making of the cake batter is so easy, and a great one for the kids to join in with as no special equipment required. It was ready to go in the oven in less than ten minutes.

As this is Donna’s recipe, not mine, I have included a link to the  recipe, and video!

The cake is delicious. Dense and *dare I say it* moist, without being heavy. And the cream cheese in the frosting stops it being too sickly.

Frosting in the making

TIPS

The chocolate cake batter before cooking

  • The batter for the cake is very loose, so if you are using tins that have a loose bottom, I would really recommend pre-cut cake liners. I get mine from Lakeland.
  • I found the cake took almost 55 minutes to cook (I checked it every 5 minutes from 40 minutes) not the 40-45 that Donna recommends.
  • If it is a hot day, the frosting will melt causing the layers to slide around when you cut to serve.  Chilling in the fridge for a while should eliminate this problem, but it will taste better if served at room temperature and not fridge cold.
  • It is delicious if you heat it up for 20 seconds or so in the microwave


This was sooo good, after being woken at 4-30 this morning, I could not resist its siren call, so at 6am, I had to sneak downstairs and have a slice before breakfast!!

If like me, you are a complete chocoholic, you may want to make the frosting with melted dark chocolate instead (I shall work on that and get back to you), but on the whole, this is a fantastic, and easy cake, that looks impressive. Go on, treat yourself!

Too late!

5 Responses to “Worlds Best Chocolate Cake?”

  1. hannah-rose May 29, 2010 at 12:56 am #

    hahahaha donna hay will be the death of us all. looks delicious!

    X

  2. smittenbybritain May 29, 2010 at 2:21 am #

    This is too good not to Tweet.

    • mummyinahurry May 29, 2010 at 8:21 am #

      It really is. I ate 3 slices yesterday. 3 slices. Oink Oink!

  3. Housewife Bliss May 29, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Yummy indeed, and just want one needs on a rainy bank holiday. Thanks for stopping by and joining the blog hop. Wishing you a fab weekend.

    • mummyinahurry May 29, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      Thanks. Not sure I set the blog hop link properly but will pop back later to look once I have done the housework!

Leave a Reply

