Happiness & help in the kitchen – for under a fiver!

24 Jul
Since we moved house, my complete lack of internet and phone signal, and TV (I can almost hear your agonised gasps) have left me mithering in a yesteryear haze.  I have been unable to access my blog or emails, and shamefully, todays post has been lingering in my inbox in for a week. But, joy oh joy, a kindly neighbour has taken pity on me, and allowed me access to their wi-fi, until I can have some 21st century technology installed!
The lovely Michelle at BabyDinesOut, (the only guide for eating out with babies and tots) has kindly prepared this post for me, and I have to say that after reading it, I ordered a chef’n’peeler straight away. Anything that keeps the little ones amused and helping with the dinner preparation is a winner in my book.
So, over to Michelle, and her talented almost 4-year-old sous chef.
I love cooking with my nearly four-year old.  Sharing the tastes, aromas and colours of fabulous ingredients and recipes is a real delight.Being a normal nearly four-year old, he naturally wants to be into everything and do everything himself.  He has mastered my beloved Kitchen Aid mixer for cake mixing.  He can stir, mix and (with a small, not too sharp knife) chop.
When it comes to preparing veggies, though, I never let him use the peeler.  Too sharp, too dangerous. The problem is that as soon as I intervene he gets disappointed and loses interest.Then I saw the Chef’n Palm Peeler on an American blog called Cooking with My Kid. Great, I thought, it’ll only be available in the states and cost me a fortune to have delivered, never mind the import duty.  Then I found it on Amazon.  It was a Mummyinahurry-worthy bargain £3.25 plus postage.
The nearly four-year old couldn’t wait to get his mitts (or palms!) on it when it arrived.  As you can see from the pictures he peeled carrots perfectly from the very first time he used it. Peeled perfectly and safely.  Result. Child re-motivated: happy child = happy mummy.

Getting to grips with the peeler

Concentrating on the carrots

Perfectly peeled carrots

6 Responses to “Happiness & help in the kitchen – for under a fiver!”

  1. Melissa July 24, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Oh my, what a cutie!!!

    • mummyinahurry July 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Yes he is, isn’t he. Not my cutie, Michelles, but I just love that mop of blonde hair. Adorable!!

  2. Pumpkin and Piglet July 25, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    That’s a good idea! Piglet is far too young at the moment but it’s really important to me that she learns to cook and, I hope, enjoy it! I may order one of these for when it’s the right time!

  3. yummymummyno1 July 26, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    What a fab gadget – I’ve never seen one of those before and I’m all for a bit of child labour! Hehe! ; )

  4. Gemma July 27, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Ooh, interesting… My oldest is also still too young for this, but I have searched it out on amazon and added to my wishlist for when she is a little bit bigger – thanks!

  5. Louise August 30, 2010 at 12:41 am #

    How cute. My 3 year old has always been a big helper in the kitchen. I’ve just recently given him the carrots to peel, but he only does one side – I need to come up with a salad recipe for carrot peelings! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

