Roast Beef and Horseradish ‘Kebab’

12 Jul

The idea for this ‘combo’ came to me after my childfree bliss weekend away, upon reading YummyMummyNo1s post on her parenting dilemma after her son’s kebab and horror film all nighter at a friend’s house.

I had been away for the weekend (a miracle, I might add, not a regular event) and left a number of easy to assemble ingredients for Mr Mummyinahurry over the weekend. When I returned the near empty fridge contained the following haul.

The Ingredients

  • Cooked sliced beef
  • Salad
  • Tomatoes
  • Horseradish Sauce
  • 1/2 fat creme fraiche
  • Pack of Pitta bread (I know it should be in the bread bin, but then it goes off when its hot)

So, the dinner dilemma was solved with a simple warm up and assembly job, and was greeted by silence punctuated with  satisfied ‘mmm, mmm, mmm’  noises from  Mr Mummyinahurry.

METHOD

Put a grill pan on the hob and leave to warm up for a few minutes. Toast the pittas on it (or just use the toaster if you dont have one)

Mix horseradish sauce with crème fraîche (or yoghurt) until you have a dressing consistency. While pitta is warming up, slice tomatoes and salad. Stuff warmed pittas with the beef, salad and tomatoes and dressing. Voila, probably the healthiest kebab in town!

The Healthiest Kebab in town?

5 Responses to “Roast Beef and Horseradish ‘Kebab’”

  1. YummyNo1 July 12, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    This looks absolutely lovely! And nothing like the absolute nightmare I imagine my son had on his sleepover from hell!!
    And thanks so much for the mention – only you could come up with something so delicious from such a nightmare post from me (oh, and a nearly empty fridge!)

    • Gavin Cruickshank (Knaw_Says) July 12, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

      I’m a friend of YummyNo1, and I found your page through her Twitter account.

      That does look delicious, something messy that you can just pick up and eat.

      I do genuinely like kebabs, no matter how much or little I’ve had to drink.

      • mummyinahurry July 12, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

        Thanks for popping by to have a look. I am like good food, but I think even a takeaway takes too long, so often I just try to make my own with a few shortcuts at home. I think this might work well will leftover roast meat too. Mmm, will have to give that a try once we are in the new house…

    • mummyinahurry July 12, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

      If I hadn’t read your post I wouldn’t have had the idea. Now must get back to the packing. Groan. I need the life laundry!!

  2. PhotoPuddle July 12, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Mmm, looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

